We only recommend things we love, however we might earn a small commission if you choose to buy something.



The LVMH Prize has just revealed its 20 semi-finalists...


Share the story
Link copied

This turbulent year has not been an easy, to say the least, for young creatives. Which is why the LVMH Prize, an incubator of fashion’s new wunderkind’s and one of the most important financial supports for young talents in the industry (the winner is granted €300,000, plus a year of coaching from experts at LVMH) is more important than ever.

The prize – which has helped launched the careers of Marine Serre, Grace Wales Bonner, Jacquemus, to name but a few – in keeping with the times is creating a new digital format this year. Open to all. For the first time, the general public can vote to choose eight lucky finalists, along with 70 industry experts and the fashion jury (composed of the biggest industry names who are working for the group: Jonathan Anderson, Nicolas Ghesquière, Stella McCartney, Virgil Abloh, Maria Grazia Chiuri and Marc Jacobs).



“Everyone will be able to vote for their favorite candidate. This year, the public will become an expert in the LVMH Prize,” said Delphine Arnault, who is in charge of the contest in an interview with WWD, announcing the list of 20 semifinalists for its eighth edition. “You will be able to discover their collections, their creative universe, their personalities on this rich, entertaining and interactive platform.” She highlighted a record number of applicants this year (more than 1900 entries from 110 countries), their optimistic and future-oriented approach to fashion and added: “All these young designers are focused on environmental issues: sustainable development, research into new materials, use of recycled fibers and the emergence of a new kind of craftsmanship.”

So who made the cut? Charles de Vilmorin, who recently joined Rochas as the brand’s new creative director, and Christopher John Rogers from the US (who won the prestigious CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Prize in 2019). There are also several designers coming from the UK, including Alicia Robinson, Bianca Saunders, Saul Nash, and the duo behind Wed brand, Amy Trinh and Evan Phillips. Other participants include Conner Ives and Colm Dillane (KidSuper) from the US, Federico Cina and Andreas Steiner (Rier) from Italy, Kika Vargas from Columbia, Adeju Thompson (Lagos Space Programme) from Nigeria, Lukhanyo Mdingi from South Africa, Tadu Midorikawa (Midorikawa Official) and Takuya Morikawa (Taakk) from Japan, Nensi Dojaka from Albania, Dongjoon Lim (Post Archive Faction) from South Korea, Cynthia Merhej (Renaissance Renaissance) from Lebanon, Rui Zhou (Rui) and Shuting Qiu from China. The finalists will be revealed later at the end of April.

For more information head here.

Link copied